Skip to content
Chill&Chest

Warranty & Repair / Guide

The tumbler warranty comparison: Yeti, Stanley, RTIC, Owala and the rest, quoted with what each excludes

The steel body almost never fails and every term covers it. The lid fails and most terms exclude it. This table is which is which, brand by brand, from the makers' own pages.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rank · Disclosure

Warranty terms as of Sep 21, 2026. Every term on this page was read from the manufacturer's own warranty page on that date, and each is linked. Brands change terms without notice (RTIC's hard-cooler term has moved more than once): confirm on the linked page before you buy, and tell us if a term has changed.

Hands signing a document with a blue pen, close up
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product reviewed on this page.

The table

BrandTerm (quoted)Lid, seal, strawConditionsSource, read 2026-09-21
Stanley 1913“Stainless Steel Vacuum Lifetime Warranty ... covers degradation of thermal performance”Excluded: “not including lids, seals and straws”; “does not apply to any non-stainless-steel part”; sold separatelyNormal use; authorized seller; proof of purchase on requestProduct Warranty
Klean Kanteen“Strong as Steel Lifetime Limited Warranty against manufacturing defects for as long as the original purchaser owns the product”Not excluded in the text; gasket kit and caps soldPurchased from Klean Kanteen or authorized sellers in the US; unauthorized sellers excludedWarranty
Owala“Every Owala bottle, mug, and tumbler is covered by a Limited Lifetime Warranty against defects”“Accessories and soft goods ... One-Year Limited Warranty”; whether a lid is an accessory: ask OwalaDefects in materials and workmanshipWarranty
Simple Modern“Limited Lifetime Warranty” on manufacturing defectsCovered: “Broken lids and drinkware that has lost its insulating properties are covered but general wear and tear like dents and scratches are not”Manufacturing defectsWarranty
BrüMate“limited lifetime warranty against manufacturer defects”“maximum of one replacement for each specific accessory or part per item (such as a lid, handle, or straw)”Cosmetic defects within 60 days; no refundsWarranty
YETI5 years (Rambler in the five-year group)Included: the warranty covers the product; lids sold separately tooOriginal purchaser; authorized dealer; returned to YETI; wear and third-party parts excludedWarranty document
Zojirushi“5-Year Warranty on Stainless Steel Vacuum Heat Retention”Not covered by that clause (vacuum only)Vacuum heat retentionProduct Warranty
Thermos“Stainless Steel Vacuumware: 5 years”Not separately stated; stoppers and lids sold as partsNormal use; factory guarantee, not through the retailerWarranty
RTIC“Drinkware: 90 Days”Same 90 days; no replacement lids listedOriginal purchaser; direct or authorized partner; eBay excludedWarranty
Igloo“Water Bottles, Tumblers, and Travel Mugs: 90 Days”SameOriginal purchaserWarranty Policy
Hydro FlaskUnverified: hydroflask.com returned 403; archived warranty page has no readable textNone readable
PuristUnverified: a warranty page is linked but the term is not on the product page we readProduct page

Terms quoted from each maker's page on 2026-09-21. The cooler table is at the cooler warranty comparison.

Is the lid covered?

This is the only question that matters for a tumbler, because the lid is the only thing that fails. Three answers appear in the table. Explicitly excluded: Stanley (“not including lids, seals and straws”) and Zojirushi (the 5 years is on the vacuum). Both sell lids. Explicitly included: Simple Modern (“Broken lids ... are covered”) and BrüMate (one replacement per part). Included by silence: YETI (the warranty covers “all YETI products,” and the lid is part of the product), Klean Kanteen (no exclusion in the text), Owala (bottles covered for life, accessories for a year; whether a spare lid is an accessory is a question for Owala). A lifetime term with the lid excluded is, over ten years, a promise to keep the body plus two or three lid purchases; a 5-year term with the lid included is five years of lid claims and then purchases. They are closer than the words suggest, and tumbler lid replacement lists who sells which lid.

The vacuum: the one thing everyone covers

A double-wall vacuum vessel that loses its vacuum stops insulating; the body sweats with ice water and burns with coffee. It is rare and it is the failure every term on this page names or implies: Stanley's “degradation of thermal performance,” Zojirushi's “Stainless Steel Vacuum Heat Retention,” Simple Modern's “drinkware that has lost its insulating properties,” YETI's and Klean Kanteen's defects language. If your tumbler sweats, file; it is the claim these terms were written for. Why is my Yeti not keeping ice separates the vacuum from the lid.

Pages we could not read

Hydro Flask's site returned 403 to every fetch and its archived warranty page renders only a title. Purist links a warranty page from its product page but the product page does not state the term. Both brands' products on this site say “unverified” and score their warranty axis as unknown, which is a limitation of our sourcing rather than a judgment of the brands. Hydro Flask vs Yeti states the gap in full.

The terms you can buy

Our picks for this

Four pieces of drinkware, four different terms, all on the card

Lifetime with a gasket kit, lifetime on the steel with lids sold, lifetime with a locking lid, and five years with the lid included.

  • Illustrative stock photo: a stainless steel flask surrounded by ice cubes on a dark surfaceStock photo

    Best buy-it-for-life bottle

    Klean Kanteen 32 oz TKWide with Chug Cap

    Lifetime warranty9.1/10

    Lifetime limited; gasket kit fits every cap; 66-hour iced claim.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Klean Kanteen 32 oz TKWide with Chug Cap

  • Illustrative stock photo: a black insulated tumbler resting on textured tree barkStock photo

    Best leakproof 40 oz

    Stanley Quencher ProTour Flip Straw Tumbler 40 oz

    Lifetime warranty8.4/10

    Lifetime on the steel; lid excluded and sold; the leakproof Stanley.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Stanley Quencher ProTour Flip Straw Tumbler 40 oz

  • Illustrative stock photo: a stainless steel flask surrounded by ice cubes on a dark surfaceStock photo

    Best everyday water bottle

    Owala FreeSip 32 oz

    Lifetime warranty7.8/10

    Limited lifetime on the bottle; accessories 1 year; Treeline's best overall.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Owala FreeSip 32 oz

  • Illustrative stock photo: a black insulated tumbler resting on textured tree barkStock photo

    Best 30 oz for the long haul

    YETI Rambler 30 oz Tumbler with MagSlider Lid

    5-yr warranty7.6/10

    5 years, lid included; every lid sold; takes coffee.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to YETI Rambler 30 oz Tumbler with MagSlider Lid

Brands ranked on these terms: drinkware brands ranked. Products ranked on them: best insulated tumblers.

How we scored this

Units we claim to have tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they filled every cooler on this list with ice and watched it for a week. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's published capacity, insulation, dimensions and weight; quote the warranty term from the maker's own warranty page with the date we read it; check whether the latches, gaskets, plugs, lids and straws are sold as parts; and cite the third-party ice-retention tests (OutdoorGearLab, Outdoor Life, Treeline, Outside, Gear Patrol) as their measurements, never ours. Every figure links to where it came from.

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Corrections & updates

  • First published; every term read 2026-09-21.

Questions

Frequently asked

Does Yeti have a lifetime warranty on tumblers?

No: 5 years on Rambler drinkware, lid included, per YETI's warranty document.

Does Stanley have a lifetime warranty on tumblers?

On the stainless vacuum body, yes, including loss of thermal performance. Lids, seals and straws are excluded and sold separately.

What is the RTIC tumbler warranty?

90 days, per RTIC's chart. RTIC's hard coolers get 5 years; its drinkware does not.

Which tumbler brand has the best warranty?

Klean Kanteen (lifetime, no lid exclusion in the text, gasket kit sold) and Simple Modern (lifetime, broken lids explicitly covered). Stanley's lifetime excludes lids; YETI's 5 years includes them.

Is a tumbler that stopped keeping cold covered?

If the vacuum failed (the body sweats or gets hot), yes under every term here. If it is the lid gasket, that is wear and usually a $15 part.

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

  1. Stanley 1913 — Product Warranty (read 2026-09-21)
  2. Stanley 1913 — Lids collection (replacement lids, straws and toppers) (read 2026-09-21)
  3. Klean Kanteen — Strong as Steel Lifetime Limited Warranty (read 2026-09-21)
  4. Klean Kanteen — TKWide Gasket Kit (read 2026-09-21)
  5. Owala — Warranty page (read 2026-09-21)
  6. Simple Modern — Warranty page (read 2026-09-21)
  7. BrüMate — Warranty page (read 2026-09-21)
  8. YETI — Warranty Information (YETI's warranty page as republished by Acme Tools, an authorized YETI dealer; read 2026-09-21)
  9. Zojirushi — Product Warranty (read 2026-09-21)
  10. Thermos — Warranty page, stainless vacuumware 5 years (read 2026-09-21)
  11. RTIC — Warranty page (read 2026-09-21)
  12. Igloo — Warranty Policy (read 2026-09-21)
  13. Purist — Mover 18 oz product page (read 2026-09-21)
  14. Hydro Flask — 32 oz Wide Mouth product page, Wayback Machine capture 2026-09-12 (hydroflask.com blocks direct fetches; read 2026-09-21)

We don't claim to have tested these coolers or tumblers and we don't pretend to. Units we claim to have tested: 0. Specs come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product), warranty terms from the maker's warranty page with the date we read it, and ice-retention measurements are attributed to whoever made them. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

More in Warranty & Repair