Ice Retention / Guide
The cooler ice retention chart: every measured number we could find, with the test that measured it
Not manufacturer claims. Not our numbers. Every row is a named publisher's measurement, with its protocol and date, so you can compare a Yeti to an RTIC to an Igloo on the same axis and know what the axis is.
By Mike M.Updated Sourced · units tested by us: 0
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rank · Disclosure

How to read this chart
Three protocols appear below and they are not interchangeable. OutdoorGearLab loads coolers in a controlled room with sensors and reports days until the interior passes 40°F (food safe) and 50°F (drinkable). Outdoor Life loads ice equal to one-third of capacity, leaves the cooler outdoors at 60–70°F, and reports hours to melt-out. Outside Lab pre-chilled 24 hours with block ice and ran a dark, unopened 96-hour test; Gear Patrol ran 72 hours on a patio in ~90°F heat with sensors every four hours. Compare within a table, not across them. How ice retention tests work explains each in detail. Every cooler in this site's registry links from its card to the row that scored it.
OutdoorGearLab: 23 coolers, days below 40°F / 50°F
“The Best Coolers of 2026,” updated July 17, 2026, Mallory Paige. Measured capacity and weight are theirs.
| # | Cooler | Days below 40°F | Days below 50°F | Measured qt / cans | Wheels | OGL list price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | YETI Roadie 48 | 6.8 | 7.5 | 45.4 / 77 | Yes | $425 |
| 2 | YETI Roadie 60 | 6.3 | 6.9 | 59.0 / 98 | Yes | $475 |
| 3 | Xspec 60qt | 6.2 | 6.7 | 59.2 / 90 | No | $230 |
| 4 | RTIC Ultralight 52 | 5.8 | 6.3 | 49.0 / 61 | No | $229 |
| 5 | RTIC 65 (Ultra-Tough) | 5.5 | 6.1 | 64.0 / 96 | No | $269 |
| 6 | Rovr RollR 60 | 5.4 | 5.9 | 54.6 / 76 | Yes | $400 |
| 7 | YETI Tundra Haul | 5.4 | 6.0 | 53.2 / 85 | Yes | $450 |
| 8 | YETI Tundra 65 | 4.8 | 5.3 | 56.0 / 74 | No | $395 |
| 9 | Coleman Classic 65 Wheeled | 4.7 | 5.1 | 62.3 / 96 | Yes | $85 |
| 10 | RTIC Ultra-Tough 45 | 4.6 | 5.0 | 43.0 / 58 | No | $239 |
| 11 | Igloo Polar 120 | 4.6 | 5.0 | 118.0 / 186 | No | $130 |
| 12 | Engel 65 | 4.5 | 5.0 | 48.0 / 78 | No | $300 |
| 13 | Ninja Frostvault 50 | 4.4 | 4.9 | 42.9 / 78 | No | $250 |
| 14 | YETI Roadie 24 | 4.3 | 4.7 | 20.0 / 32 | No | $250 |
| 15 | Igloo Marine Ultra 70 | 4.2 | 4.6 | 76.0 / 114 | No | $85 |
| 16 | Coleman Xtreme 50 Wheels | 4.1 | 4.6 | 52.0 / 90 | Yes | $75 |
| 17 | YETI Tundra 45 | 4.1 | 4.5 | 35.0 / 54 | No | $325 |
| 18 | Igloo BMX 25 | 4.0 | 4.4 | 17.0 / 34 | No | $97 |
| 19 | Coleman Classic 52 | 4.0 | 4.4 | 44.0 / 74 | No | $50 |
| 20 | RTIC Ultra-Light 22 | 3.4 | 3.8 | 28.0 / 38 | No | $139 |
| 21 | YETI Roadie 15 | 3.4 | 3.7 | 15.6 / 22 | No | $200 |
| 22 | RTIC 20 | 3.3 | 3.6 | 15.0 / 30 | No | $169 |
| 23 | Coleman Snap 'N Go 45 | 2.4 | 2.5 | 46.9 / 64 | No | $220 |
Source: OutdoorGearLab, July 17, 2026. Sorted by days below 40°F. Coolers not in this site's registry (Roadie 60, Xspec, Rovr, Ninja, Marine Ultra, BMX, Classic 52, Ultra-Light 22, Roadie 15, RTIC 20, Snap 'N Go) are listed for completeness only.
Outdoor Life: 8 coolers, hours at one-third ice
“We Tested the Best Coolers Head to Head,” May 28, 2026, Laura Lancaster. One-third capacity in ice, 60–70°F ambient.
| Cooler | Hours of ice | Rated cans | Warranty (as reported by Outdoor Life) | Award |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Igloo Trailmate 50 | 122 | 82 | Not stated | Best Value |
| Titan Pro 55Q | 118 | 80 | Not stated | Best Overall |
| YETI Roadie 48 | 115 | 68 | 5 years | Most Portable |
| Pelican 45QW Elite Wheeled | 115 | 68 | Lifetime | Best Warranty |
| RTIC 45QT Ultra-Tough Wheeled | 109 | 69 | Not stated | Runner-up |
| Orca Wanderer Tote (soft) | 60 | 15 L | Not stated | Best Soft Cooler |
| YETI Hopper M20 (soft) | 55 | 20 L | 3 years | Best Backpack |
| Monti Shasta (soft) | 55 | 23 L | Not stated | Most Packable |
Source: Outdoor Life, May 28, 2026. Hours to melt-out with a one-third ice load.
Outside Lab and Gear Patrol: Yeti vs RTIC
By brand
YETI: Roadie 48 6.8 d (OGL) and 115 h (OL); Roadie 60 6.3 d; Tundra Haul 5.4 d and the Outside Lab win; Tundra 65 4.8 d; Roadie 24 4.3 d; Tundra 45 4.1 d (98 h to 40°F in the 2021 review) and 42.4°F at 72 h (Gear Patrol). RTIC: Ultra-Light 52 5.8 d; 65 5.5 d; Ultra-Tough 45 4.6 d and 44.8°F at 72 h; 45 Wheeled 109 h (OL); Ultra-Light 22 3.4 d; 20 3.3 d; an RTIC 52 melted at 96 h in Outside's box. Igloo: Trailmate 50 122 h (OL, longest); Polar 120 4.6 d; Marine Ultra 70 4.2 d; BMX 25 4.0 d. Coleman: Classic 65 Wheeled 4.7 d; Xtreme 50 4.1 d; Classic 52 4.0 d; Snap 'N Go 2.4 d. Engel: 65 4.5 d. Pelican: 45QW 115 h (OL). Titan: Pro 55Q 118 h (OL). Lifetime, ORCA hard coolers: no measured result found as of 2026-09-21; the registry marks them unverified. How long does a Yeti keep ice expands the YETI rows; soft cooler ice retention has the 19-row soft table.
The chart leaders you can buy
Our picks for this
Four chart leaders, from the registry
Ranked here by the measurement alone; the full rubric (warranty, parts) is on the roundups.
Stock photoBest overall wheeled cooler
YETI Roadie 48 Wheeled Cooler
5-yr warranty8.2/106.8 days (OGL, #1 of 23); 115 h (OL). 5-year term.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to YETI Roadie 48 Wheeled Cooler
Stock photoBest ice retention per pound
RTIC 52 QT Ultra-Light Cooler
3-yr warranty7.0/105.8 days (OGL, #4); the most ice of any non-wheeled cooler in the table at 21 lb. 3-year term.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to RTIC 52 QT Ultra-Light Cooler
Stock photoBest big cooler for the money
RTIC 65 QT Ultra-Tough Cooler
5-yr warranty7.9/105.5 days (OGL, #5). 5-year term, parts sold, $269.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to RTIC 65 QT Ultra-Tough Cooler
Stock photoBest cheap cooler that held the most ice
Igloo Trailmate 50 Qt Cooler
1-yr warranty6.5/10122 hours (OL, longest in that test) at $120. 1-year term.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Igloo Trailmate 50 Qt Cooler
Ranked on the full rubric: best coolers for ice retention and best hard coolers.
How we scored this
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they filled every cooler on this list with ice and watched it for a week. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's published capacity, insulation, dimensions and weight; quote the warranty term from the maker's own warranty page with the date we read it; check whether the latches, gaskets, plugs, lids and straws are sold as parts; and cite the third-party ice-retention tests (OutdoorGearLab, Outdoor Life, Treeline, Outside, Gear Patrol) as their measurements, never ours. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published with OutdoorGearLab (July 17, 2026), Outdoor Life (May 28, 2026), Outside (July 27, 2026) and Gear Patrol (Dec 2, 2025) figures.
Questions
Frequently asked
Which cooler has the best ice retention?
In OutdoorGearLab's July 2026 controlled test, the YETI Roadie 48 (6.8 days below 40°F, first of 23). In Outdoor Life's May 2026 one-third-ice test, the Igloo Trailmate 50 (122 hours).
How long does a Yeti keep ice compared to an RTIC?
OutdoorGearLab: RTIC 45 4.6 days vs Tundra 45 4.1; RTIC 65 5.5 vs Tundra 65 4.8. Gear Patrol: within 2.4°F at 72 hours. Outside Lab: Tundra Haul held at 96 hours, an RTIC 52 melted. The Roadie 48 beats everything from both.
How long does an Igloo cooler keep ice?
Trailmate 50: 122 hours at one-third ice (Outdoor Life). Polar 120: 4.6 days below 40°F (OutdoorGearLab). Marine Ultra 70: 4.2 days. BMX 25: 4.0 days.
How long does a Coleman cooler keep ice?
Classic 65 Wheeled: 4.7 days below 40°F; Xtreme 50: 4.1; Classic 52: 4.0; Snap 'N Go 45: 2.4 (OutdoorGearLab, July 2026).
Are these your own test results?
No. Units we claim to have tested: 0. Every row is OutdoorGearLab's, Outdoor Life's, Outside's or Gear Patrol's, with the source and date at the top of each table.
Keep reading
Related on Chill & Chest
Receipts
Sources
- OutdoorGearLab — "The Best Coolers of 2026", updated July 17, 2026, comparison table (read 2026-09-21)
- OutdoorGearLab — YETI Tundra 45 review, May 4, 2021 (read 2026-09-21)
- OutdoorGearLab — YETI Roadie 48 review, April 24, 2024 (read 2026-09-21)
- OutdoorGearLab — YETI Tundra Haul review, updated July 17, 2026 (read 2026-09-21)
- OutdoorGearLab — YETI Tundra 65 review, May 12, 2023 (read 2026-09-21)
- OutdoorGearLab — YETI Roadie 24 review, October 9, 2023 (read 2026-09-21)
- Outdoor Life — "We Tested the Best Coolers Head to Head", May 28, 2026, one-third-capacity ice test (read 2026-09-21)
- Outside Online — "Yeti vs. RTIC", Outside Lab 96-hour test, updated July 27, 2026 (read 2026-09-21)
- Gear Patrol — "RTIC vs. Yeti", 72-hour patio test, updated Dec 2, 2025 (read 2026-09-21)
- OutdoorGearLab — "Best Soft Cooler", updated September 15, 2026, comparison table (read 2026-09-21)
We don't claim to have tested these coolers or tumblers and we don't pretend to. Units we claim to have tested: 0. Specs come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product), warranty terms from the maker's warranty page with the date we read it, and ice-retention measurements are attributed to whoever made them. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.